Account Settings

Account settings allow you to customize Drupal's user profile. Account settings are located under configuration in the people subgroup.

Drupal Account Settings under configuration
It is the first link on the configuration page.

Account settings is elaborate and advanced and divided into the following five sections:

  • Anonymous Users
  • Administrator Role
  • Registration and Cancellation
  • Personalization
  • Emails

Anonymous Users is a simple field that lets you rename the anonymous user.  

Drupal Anonymous Users Account Settings
You can name your anonymous users anything.  Its better not to have spaces.

Administrator role allows you to decide which role will be an administrator.  By default, administrators are administrators.  When a new module is enabled, the role selected here gets that module's administrator permissions.

Drupal Account Settings Admin Role
It is best to leave the admin as an admin.

Registration and Cancelation deals with user creation and user removal.  The first section allows you to decide who can register.  There are three options

  • Administrators only - Only an administrator can create a user.   For every new non-anonymous user, the admin will go to admin/people/create and create that user.
  • Visitors - Anyone can go to your /user page and enter in the criteria to be become a user.
  • Visitors, but administrator approval is required - Anyone can go to your /user page and enter in the criteria to become a user, but they are placed in a limbo state.  In this limbo state they can not do anything until the administrator approves their account.

There is a check box in this section about requiring email verification.  If you select any of the visitor options, KEEP THIS CHECKED.  If you do not keep this checked, you will be flooded with bogus spammy users.

Drupal user registration
Never uncheck that check box.

Now that you have set the path to user-hood, you must decide what happens when you have to remove a user.  Drupal gives you four options.

  • Disable the account and keep its content - The user will be banned from logging in, but any content or comments they created will survive on your site.
  • Disable the account and unpublished its content - The user will be banned from logging in, and their content will be set to unpublished.  Their content is NOT deleted, just unpublished.
  • Delete the account and make its content belong to the anonymous user - The user is not banned, they are destroyed, and all their contributions to your site will be marked as being authored by anonymous
  • Delete the account and its content - The user is deleted/destroyed/eliminated.  Their content and contributions are wiped clean, like the Soviets did to dissidents.  They just do not exist anymore.  If you choose this option, it is drastic.
Drupal cancel user account
All these selections are final!  There is no undoing! 

The next section is personalization.  This allows users to your site to add a picture of themselves for their profile.  It is pretty self explanatory, but lets review it.

  • Picture Directory - Where in the public files do you want to store these pictures?
  • Default Picture - If a user does not upload a picture what do you want to display here?  It is popular to display a silhouette. 
  • Picture Display Style -  How big of picture do you want to display?
  • Picture Upload Dimensions - You can limit how big of picture a user can upload in pixels.  This is not a size (mb) limiter.
  • Picture upload file size - This is a size limiter.  Like Picture upload dimensions, Drupal will scale this picture down if necessary.  Drupal is laying down the law and taking charge!
  • Picture guidelines - Is a field for help.  You can put verbiage and suggestions for the user in here.
Drupal account personalize picture default picture
If you uncheck the enable user pictures, you will not have the picture options.

The next section, Emails, is about what the user is emailed during their account.

All of these settings come with default verbiage and information.  You can change and update the text.  You can make it pretty by adding html for graphics.

  • Welcome (new user created by administrator - This email is sent when an admin creates the user.  The email by default will include the site url, the user name and their password.
  • Welcome (awaiting approval) - If you selected, Visitors, but admin approval is required, in the registration and cancelation section, this is the email that will be sent.  It is just letting the user know that they are not forgotten.
  • Welcome (no approval) - If you allow users to be created without approval, this is the email that is sent. This is nice way to prevent someone from impersonating another person.
  • Account activation - Once the account is active, they will get this email.
  • Account blocked - If the qualified for the being blocked, this email will be sent to remind them of their status.  By default the check box within this section is not checked.  This means that blocked users are not notified if they are blocked.
  • Account cancelation confirmation - If a user decides to cancel their own account, this email will be sent.  Within the email is a link confirmation they user must click.
  • Account canceled -  When an account is canceled this is the email that is sent.  By default, the check box is unchecked, thus the user will not be notified.
  • Password recovery - This is the email sent when the user clicks the password recovery link on /user.
Drupal account creation email.
Click the save button when you are done!