Blocks - Administering

To administer a block in Drupal is to decide where it will be displayed, goto admin/structure/block to administer a block.  From here you can see all the blocks available to you.  The block's configuration are divided into three columns (Block, Region, Operations).

Blocks!  Blocks need to know their region and operations.
  • Block - The bolded text is the region.  This lists all the blocks assigned to that region even is the block is not visible.  All the blocks listed under the bold region will appear in the order in which they are listed.  You can move them around by clicking and holding the four pronged arrow.
  • Region - Region is the same as the bolded region in the first column.  If you look, you will notice that everything is grouped.  If you change a region, the screen will auto magically move that block to the correct region.  Regions are set my Drupal's theme, specifically the region.tpl.php file and the theme's .info file.  If you select none, for a region, your block will move down to the Disabled region.  Disabled means it is not displayed anywhere.
  • Operations - Every block can be configured.  <LINK>Configured means that it can be edited.  The edit page is very similar to the page to create a module. On the edit page, you can change the blocks settings.   

 Why can some blocks be deleted and others can't?  If the block was created by Drupal core or a custom module, it can not be deleted.  It can configured (edited).  If you create a custom block, that block can be deleted.

Remember, click the Save blocks button when you are done!